Home Sweet Home

15 Nov

I can’t say I like moving. Actually, it’s annoying. I’ve done it plenty of times (12 times in 17 years to be exact) to now know the art of packing and unpacking. However, one of the great things about moving is that you get to purge your old self and find things that had been hidden from the last move. Like maybe your favorite coffee mug, or a shirt you had buried, or in my instance a book that I never got around to reading. It’s called How to Be Good by one of my favorite authors Nick Hornby and no, it’s not a self-help book, but a book that helps you think about yourself. You know, like all that you have and to be grateful for what you have, which speaks to me now because amongst all the boxes sitting in two rooms that we truthfully don’t need (currently) I feel the need to buy more things. Some things we need, like a new heater (it’s bloody cold here now), but there’s a list of other things that really we don’t need, but wow, wouldn’t it be nice to have. Then, as I sit at my kitchen table, I start to think how much I have and the list of things I don’t have seems ridiculous.  Because I already have the one thing many people long for and that thing is a whole lot of love to fill up the place…I’m happy to be moved in to our first nest in France, but more importantly I’m happy to have what I have and that is more than a lot of people can say they have…

admin-ajax

One Response to “Home Sweet Home”

  1. Paulette Fennewald November 15, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Okay, those “things” are probably ridiculous, but but what are they? some of us are on a need to know basis, and this could be helpful “ho, ho, ho” or mazol…whatever. Congrats on the new digs, can’t wait to see pic’s. love to you both.

Leave a Reply

