Paris

14 Sep

Sometimes you just need a weekend together and I’m lucky enough to live near one of the most romantic places in the world. So, when my husband asked me if I wanted to join him in Paris, where he’s currently working, of course I said, oui, bien sûr!

This time in Paris I wanted to see all the little details of the city that I hadn’t seen before. Our first stop was the Jardins du Luxembourg, where the Senate is located. Nothing like D.C., hey…I really could have spent the whole day there. I’m not sure how the government gets anything done. It’s breathtakingly beautiful…

Just a few little details on the way to lunch… For me Paris is definitely in the details (and the food). It’s the random flowers all around the city, the fountains, the architectural details, the romantic side streets and the hidden pieces of art on the walls.

After some walking down Rue Mouffetard, one of the oldest streets in Paris, discovering fine épiceries and shops, we found this cute and oh, so French brasserie where we ate mussels and fries (one of our favorites). Powered up from lunch, we took a walk to the Eiffel Tower to see if we could go to the top. It was a beautiful day, so of course the line was a little brutal. Instead, we walked across the river to the Trocadero and then strolled back to our hotel to get ready for dinner at L’Estaminet, an adorable restaurant on Rue Oberkampf

Finally, on Sunday we took a short trip out to the Paris horse races. It’s a big thing in France. Actually, they have entire bars here dedicated to PMU. I’m not really a gambling woman, but I put my first bet on an American horse who disappointingly came in nearly last. After our big winnings (5 euros) we decided it was time to head back. Our hotel was located near the Jewish area in Paris and so we explored Rue de Rosiers and when I say explored I mean culinary speaking…I wanted to eat everything I saw in the windows…we settled on something that was a mix between a pretzel and challah bread from Sacha Finkelsztajn (pictured below) and then we had a feast of Israeli fallafel. The line to get one is no joke, it’s that good!

And there it is, 48 hours in Paris…I can’t wait to go back for more exploring. Next time it will be the gigantic mandlebread I spotted down the street from chez Finkelsztajn.

One Response to “Paris”

  1. Cristina Juri Arencibia September 14, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    Sounds like a lovely weekend. I loooove mussels, one of my favorites too! Courtney, you look prettier than ever before!

Leave a Reply

